Alina_gelbe_Stühle.jpg

Artists deserve support

                                              

If you were to ask artists how they started down the path of their artistic being, the question would doubtless be as revealing as asking them: “How did you become a person?”

 

Creatives are inextricably linked to their work. But it’s a mistake to assume this means that the persons behind the artists are therefore immediately discernible. On the contrary: the reason creatives are prepared to risk their social recognition, existential security, fundamental rights as workers, health, and, in some cases, even their dignity, is so personal that often they go to great lengths to protect themselves from the outside world and are sometimes even unwilling to reveal themselves at all. Artists have to defend this passion repeatedly throughout their lives from obstacles both external and internal – including their particular training and professional circumstances, but also self-doubt and identity crises.

 

Creatives have a particular burden to carry, no matter how successful they are. Alongside the need to develop their artistic skills, they are confronted with a variety of everyday challenges:

 

  • recurring periods of unemployment

  • the unpredictability of success and failure

  • economic precarity

  • the expectation of endless flexibility

  • harmful power structures

  • stress and tension

 

Many creative types are rightfully suspicious of what “healing interventions” to their personality might entail, given that extremes, contradictions, and enigmas form the basis of their work. But this can also set in motion a vicious cycle of doubts, unrealized desires, and seemingly ever-renewed evidence of one’s seeming inadequacy. Under the best of circumstances, successful work is needlessly hindered, and in the worst, self-destructive tendencies emerge. The truth lies not in the middle but rather in keeping these extremes in balance.

 I offer support to creatives built on my training and experience and tailored to the needs of each individual. I am a licensed psychologist who also has over thirty years of experience within the artistic profession as an actress, singer and author.

Künstler verdienen Unterstützung

                                              

Stellt man KünstlerInnen die Frage nach dem Einstieg in ihr Künstlerdasein, ist sie offenbar so aufschlussreich wie die Frage "Wie sind Sie ein Mensch geworden?"

 

Denn Kreative sind als Personen untrennbar mit ihrer Arbeit verbunden. Aber daraus den Schluss zu ziehen, dass die Menschen hinter den KünstlerInnen gleich erkennbar sind, ist falsch. Im Gegenteil: Der Grund, warum Kreative bereit sind, gesellschaftliche Anerkennung, existentielle Absicherung, Grundrechte als Arbeitnehmer, Gesundheit und in manchen Fällen ihre Würde aufzugeben, ist so persönlich, dass sie ihn gut vor dem Zugriff der Außenwelt schützen und manchmal nicht einmal sich selbst offenbaren wollen. Im Verlauf ihres Lebens müssen KünstlerInnen diese Leidenschaft immer wieder gegen äußere und innere Hindernisse verteidigen, wozu die jeweilige Ausbildung, die berufliche Realität, aber auch Selbstzweifel und Identitätskonflikte gehören.

 

Kreative sind in besonderer Weise belastet – und dies unabhängig davon, wie erfolgreich sie sind. Denn neben der Entwicklung ihrer künstlerischen Fähigkeiten bestimmen vielfältige Probleme Ihren Alltag:

  • wiederholte Phasen von Arbeitslosigkeit

  • Unberechenbarkeit von Erfolg und Misserfolg

  • Leben am Existenzminimum

  • ständig erforderliche Mobilität

  • belastende Machtstrukturen

  • Stress und Anspannung

 

Viele Kreative sind zu recht misstrauisch, was "heilende Eingriffe" in ihre Persönlichkeit betrifft, denn Extreme, Widersprüchlichkeit und Geheimnisse bilden die Basis ihrer Arbeit. Sie können aber auch einen Teufelskreis zwischen Zweifeln, unerfüllten Sehnsüchten und immer neuen angeblichen Beweisen der eigenen Unzulänglichkeit in Gang setzen. Im besten Fall wird dann erfolgreiche Arbeit unnötig behindert, im schlechtesten Fall entstehen selbstzerstörerische Tendenzen. Die Wahrheit liegt hier nicht in der Mitte, sondern in der Balance dieser Extreme.

Ich biete kreativen Persönlichkeiten Unterstützung, die individuell auf sie zugeschnitten ist und darauf aufbaut, dass ich sowohl Diplompsychologin bin als auch seit über 30 Jahren das künstlerische Metier aus der Innensicht als Schauspielerin, Sängerin und Autorin kenne.

Alina Gause
Artists‘ Way
Feldstedter Weg 11
12305 Berlin

 

Kontakt:

Telefon: +49-(0)30 707 64 684
E-Mail: info@artists-way.de